Set Up Live Slicer Monitoring
Enable monitoring on an account, grant permissions, and create a Slicer View for the Live Slicers you want to watch.
Prerequisites
The Live Slicer Monitoring dashboard shows health statistics for all active and recently active Live Slicers associated with a Slicer View. You may only add Live Slicers to a Slicer View when the following conditions are met:
-
Authorization Requirements:
-
You must be authorized to monitor the desired Live Slicers. Authorization is granted under any of the following conditions:
-
The desired Live Slicers correspond to your customer account.
-
A user that owns the desired Live Slicers has granted you monitoring permissions on their customer account.
Monitoring permissions defined on the Account Access page only determine access to the legacy Live Slicer Health dashboard. This version of the Live Slicer Monitoring dashboard requires that you grant monitoring permissions through the Allowed Watchers page.
-
-
You belong to an organization that has been assigned the account that owns the desired Live Slicers.
-
-
Enable Monitoring: You must enable monitoring on the customer account that owns the Live Slicer.
Monitoring
Before you can add a Live Slicer to a Slicer View, you must first enable monitoring on the customer account that owns it.
You may only enable monitoring on customer accounts to which you have been granted monitoring access.
Enable monitoring on an account
-
Navigate to the Monitored Accounts page:
- From the main menu, navigate to Services > Monitoring 2.0.
- Then navigate to Settings > Monitored Accounts.
-
Select Configure Monitored Accounts:
- Mark each customer account for which monitoring will be enabled.
- Select Add # Accounts to confirm.
Disable monitoring on an account
-
Navigate to the Monitored Accounts page:
- From the main menu, navigate to Services > Monitoring 2.0.
- Then navigate to Settings > Monitored Accounts.
-
Disable monitoring on an account:
-
Hover over the desired customer account.
-
Select Delete Selected Accounts.
-
Select Yes, Delete It to confirm that monitoring should be disabled on the account.
Disabling monitoring removes that customer account's Live Slicers from your Slicer Views.
-
Permissions
You may allow other users to monitor your Live Slicers.
Users with either the admin or read/write permission may also determine the set of users allowed to monitor the Live Slicers associated with each of your organization's accounts.
Allow user(s) to monitor your Live Slicers
-
Navigate to the Allowed Watchers page:
- From the main menu, navigate to Services > Monitoring 2.0.
- Then navigate to Settings > Allowed Watchers.
-
Organization: Admin and Read/Write Users:
- Set the Accounts option to
Personal.
- Set the Accounts option to
-
Add user(s) to monitor your Live Slicers:
- From the right-hand pane, enter the name of the user (e.g., [email protected]) that will be allowed to monitor your Live Slicers.
- Verify the specified user name before adding it. For your security, the system does not validate user names.
- Select + Add Watcher.
-
Repeat steps 2 and 3 as needed.
Disallow user(s) from monitoring your Live Slicers
-
Navigate to the Allowed Watchers page:
- From the main menu, navigate to Services > Monitoring 2.0.
- Then navigate to Settings > Allowed Watchers.
-
Organization: Admin and Read/Write Users:
- Set the Accounts option to
Personal.
- Set the Accounts option to
-
Remove user(s) from monitoring your Live Slicers:
-
Hover over the desired user and then select Delete Selected.
-
Select Yes, Remove It to confirm that the user should no longer be allowed to monitor your Live Slicers.
Removing monitoring permissions from a user will remove your Live Slicers from the Slicer Views associated with that user.
-
Allow user(s) to monitor Live Slicers associated with an account
By default, all users associated with your organization are allowed to monitor the Live Slicers associated with your organization's accounts.
This procedure may only be performed by users that have been granted either the admin or read/write permission.
-
Navigate to the Allowed Watchers page:
- From the main menu, navigate to Services > Monitoring 2.0.
- Then navigate to Settings > Allowed Watchers.
-
Select the desired account:
- From the Accounts option, select the account you wish to manage.
-
Add user(s) to monitor Live Slicers:
- From the right-hand pane, enter the name of the user (e.g., [email protected]) that will be allowed to monitor your Live Slicers.
- Verify the specified user name before adding it. For your security, the system does not validate user names.
- Select + Add Watcher.
-
Repeat steps 2 and 3 as needed.
Disallow user(s) from monitoring Live Slicers associated with an account
This procedure may only be performed by users that have been granted either the admin or read/write permission.
-
Navigate to the Allowed Watchers page:
- From the main menu, navigate to Services > Monitoring 2.0.
- Then navigate to Settings > Allowed Watchers.
-
Select the desired account:
- From the Accounts option, select the account from which you wish to remove users.
-
Remove user(s) from monitoring Live Slicers:
- Mark each desired user.
- Select Delete Selected.
- Select Yes, Remove It to confirm that the marked users should no longer be allowed to monitor the Live Slicers associated with the account selected in step 2.
Removing monitoring permissions from a user will remove the account's Live Slicers from the Slicer Views associated with that user.
Slicer View
A Slicer View identifies a set of Live Slicers. You may switch between Slicer Views from the Live Slicer Monitoring dashboard. Use Slicer Views to:
- Focus on monitoring key Live Slicers.
- Quickly switch monitoring focus between different sets of Live Slicers.
- A user with either the admin or read/write permission can create Slicer Views that can be leveraged by any member of your organization. This type of Slicer View is known as an organization Slicer View.
Create a Slicer View
-
Verify that you have enabled monitoring on the desired accounts.
-
Navigate to the Slicer Views page:
- From the main menu, navigate to Services > Monitoring 2.0.
- Then navigate to Settings > Slicer Views.
-
Organization: Admin and Read/Write Users:
- Determine whether a Slicer View will be created for your organization or for personal use. From the Organizations option, select either your organization or
Personal. - Select + Create New Slicer View.
- Determine whether a Slicer View will be created for your organization or for personal use. From the Organizations option, select either your organization or
-
Create the Slicer View:
- Enter the name that will be assigned to the Slicer View in the View Name field.
- Optional: Use the Search field to filter the list of available Live Slicers by name and owner.
- Mark the desired Live Slicers.
- Select the red left-arrow icon.
- Select Save.
Modify a Slicer View
-
Navigate to the Slicer Views page:
- From the main menu, navigate to Services > Monitoring 2.0.
- Then navigate to Settings > Slicer Views.
-
Organization: Admin and Read/Write Users:
- Determine whether to modify a Slicer View that was created for your organization or for personal use. From the Organizations option, select either your organization or
Personal. - Select the desired Slicer View.
- Determine whether to modify a Slicer View that was created for your organization or for personal use. From the Organizations option, select either your organization or
-
Modify the Slicer View:
- Add Live Slicers by marking from the Available Slicers list and then selecting the red left-arrow icon.
- Remove Live Slicers by marking them from the Slicers in View list and then selecting the red right-arrow icon.
- Select Save.
Delete a Slicer View
-
Navigate to the Slicer Views page:
- From the main menu, navigate to Services > Monitoring 2.0.
- Then navigate to Settings > Slicer Views.
-
Organization: Admin and Read/Write Users:
- Determine whether to delete a Slicer View that was created for your organization or for personal use. From the Organizations option, select either your organization or
Personal. - Hover over the desired Slicer View and then select Delete (rubbish bin icon).
- Select Yes, Delete It to confirm that the Slicer View should be deleted.
- Determine whether to delete a Slicer View that was created for your organization or for personal use. From the Organizations option, select either your organization or
Updated about 2 hours ago